Valentines Day

February 22, 2010

This is another short tale about our dear friend Velma. (The one that comes to the studio to paint pottery every Saturday.)

Its Saturday, February 13. The day before the dreaded Holiday. (I have heard some call it Single’s Awareness Day.) Well, anyways, Velma comes in and is her usual chipper self. “Hey, Hannah. How are you?” I reply with the usual, “Im good Velma, How are you?” “Oh, I’m doing good. Hey, You got a date for Valentines Day?”

Well. I couldn’t lie to her. “No, Velma, I dont have a date.” “Ahhh, well that’s too bad. Got any Plans for Valentined Day?” “No Velma, No Plans for Valentines Day.I have to work.”

I could just hear the disappointment in her voice. “Well, that’s too bad. You are a nice Lady. You Should have a valentine.” (yes, I know. ha ha.)

Its Saturday, February 20… one week after the Horried Holiday. And my dear friend Velma is still asking me all the same questions about Valentines Day…ahhh! Just let it go! I know I was alone! Stop bringing it up!

She is like this with every holiday…so I’m sure I will have to deal with this for a couple of weeks.

Leave a comment